INDIANAPOLIS, IND. –  Atlantic Coast Conference champion North Carolina will play host to Patriot League champion Lehigh in the first round of the 2013 NCAA Division I Men’s Lacrosse Tournament next Saturday at 12 noon at Fetzer Field.

The matchup will feature two teams with the longest current winning streaks in NCAA Division I.  The #5 seeded Tar Heels have won nine games in a row and carry a 12-3 record into the post-season.  Lehigh, which is unseeded, has won seven games in a row and is 12-4 overall coming to Chapel Hill.

The game will be nationally televised on ESPN2.

The Tar Heels are in the NCAA Tournament for the 28th time in school history and the seventh year in a row.  The Tar Heels have qualified for the NCAA Tournament in each of Coach Joe Breschi’s five years as head coach.  Lehigh is in the tournament field for the second year in a row.  A year ago the Mountain Hawks were the tournament’s No. 7 seed but lost its opening game to Maryland in Bethlehem, Pa.  UNC was the #8 seed a year ago but lost its opening game to Denver.

Carolina’s all-time tournament record is 27-23.  The #5 seed is the highest for UNC since the Tar Heels were seeded #4 in 2010.

Advance tickets will go on sale Monday at the Ticket Center on  All seats are general admission.  Ticket prices are $10 for adults and $5 for students.

The Tar Heels are 6-2-1 all-time against Lehigh.  In the most recent meeting between the two teams, Lehigh defeated North Carolina 9-8 on March 3, 2012 at Fetzer Field.


Tournament Schedule

Saturday, May 11, 2013

12 Noon –  Lehigh (12-4) at #5 North Carolina (12-3), ESPN2

2:30 p.m. – Yale (11-4) at #8 Penn State (12-4), ESPNU

5 p.m. – Detroit (5-9) at #2 Notre Dame (10-4), ESPNU

7:30 p.m. – Albany (13-4) at #4 Denver (12-4), ESPNU

Sunday, May 12, 2013

1 p.m. – Cornell (12-3) at #6 Maryland (10-3), ESPN2

3 p.m. – Towson (10-7) at #3 Ohio State (12-3), ESPNU

5:15 – Loyola (11-4) at #7 Duke (12-5), ESNPU

7:30 p.m. – Bryant (8-10) at #1 Syracuse (13-3), ESPNU