The University of North Carolina Board of Governors announced on Monday that selections for the 2017 Awards for Excellence in Teaching have been made.

A prize of $12,500 and a commemorative bronze medallion will be awarded to each of the 17 winners during spring graduation ceremonies at their respective campuses.

According to Board Chairman Lou Bissette, the selected instructors are “innovative and creative in their teaching approaches and are making a real difference in student learning.”

Winners for this year represent a broad range of departments, including criminal justice, music, chemistry, mass communication and engineering science.

The Department of English and Comparative Literature at UNC-Chapel Hill is also being represented by Dr. Jane Thrailkill, a local awardee.

The awards were conceived in 1993 as a way for board members to support and promote good teaching at each of the campuses in the statewide collegiate network.

Full biographies and detailed perspectives on all 17 winners are available through the University of North Carolina website at

Image from University of North Carolina.