Select Page

Mitch Trubisky a Semifinalist for the Davey O’Brien Award

Mitch Trubisky a Semifinalist for the Davey O’Brien Award

The honors continue to roll in for UNC junior quarterback Mitch Trubisky, who is in the midst of one of the most efficient and prolific passing seasons in school history.

Just a week after being named one of five finalists for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, Trubisky was announced Thursday as one of 18 semifinalists for the Davey O’Brien Award.

While both awards honor the nation’s top college quarterback, the O’Brien Award has no restrictions on which quarterbacks can qualify–unlike the Unitas Award, which states that a player must be in his fourth year of college.

The semifinalists for the O’Brien Award were put together based on votes from both the award’s National Selection Committee and fans.

UNC has never had a quarterback win either award.

Clemson’s Deshaun Watson–the 2015 winner–is again among those nominated, joining Trubisky and Louisville’s Lamar Jackson as ACC honorees.

Through nine games as UNC’s full-time starter behind center, Trubisky has completed over 70 percent of his passes while throwing for 19 touchdowns and just two interceptions. His 2,707 yards have also come on 8.5 yards per attempt, as he has been the driving force behind a big-play offense that has the No. 17 Tar Heels sitting at 7-2 this season.

ESPN NFL Draft guru Mel Kiper Jr. has even elevated Trubisky to the top of his quarterback rankings–suggesting the junior could be the first signal-caller taken in next year’s draft should he decide to leave early.

The O’Brien Foundation and Selection Committee will release the names of its three finalists on Tuesday, Nov. 22–with the winner being announced live on ESPN’s Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Thursday, Dec. 8.


FULL LIST OF O’BRIEN AWARD SEMIFINALISTS (In alphabetical order): J.T. Barrett (Ohio State), Jake Browning (Washington), Sam Darnold (USC), Jerod Evans (Virginia Tech), Luke Falk (Washington State), Jalen Hurts (Alabama), Chad Kelly (Ole Miss), Lamar Jackson (Louisville), Trevor Knight (Texas A&M), Patrick Mahomes II (Texas Tech), Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma), Mason Rudolph (Oklahoma State), Wilton Speight (Michigan), Zach Terrell (Western Michigan), Mitch Trubisky (North Carolina), Greg Ward Jr. (Houston), Deshaun Watson (Clemson) and Davis Webb (California).

Leave a Reply

On Air Now

Translate »