New UNC head football coach Mack Brown was officially inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame on Tuesday night in New York City, as one of 13 members in this year’s class.

A crowd of nearly 1,600 people at the New York Hilton Midtown’s Grand Ballroom were on hand to celebrate the event, which ended with Brown giving a speech on behalf of the 2018 class.

Others inducted on Tuesday included: Trevor Cobb (Rice), Kerry Collins (Penn State), Dave Dickenson (Montana), Dana Howard (Illinois), Calvin Johnson (Georgia Tech), Paul Palmer (Temple), Ed Reed (Miami [Fla.]), Matt Stinchcomb (Georgia), Aaron Taylor (Nebraska), Charles Woodson (Michigan) and coaches Frank Beamer (Murray State, Virginia Tech) and Mel Tjeerdsma (Austin College [Texas], Northwest Missouri State).

Throughout 30 years coaching at Appalachian State, Tulane, UNC and Texas, Brown has compiled a career record of 238-117-1 and won a national championship with Texas in 2005.




Photo via UNC Athletics