CHAPEL HILL – The UNC Board Trustees announced Thursday that current trustee,  Lowry Caudill, will serve as its next chair. Wade Hargrove currently holds the position—his term is up this summer. Alston Gardner will be the vice chair.

The board will formally vote on the nominations at its next meeting.

Hargrove said it was a “day of massive departures” as trustees Barbara Hyde, Felicia Washington, and Kel Landis sat at their final meeting with the board.

It was also the last for Chancellor Holden Thorp. Dr. Carol Folt, who currently serves as interim president of Dartmouth College, will officially assume the chancellorship on July 1.  Thorp is taking a new position as provost at the University of Washington in St. Louis.

“You never wavered and I admire you for your conviction,” Hargrove said. “I admire you for your commitment to principle and to the long-term interest to this University, the student, the faculty and this board. All of us are very indebted to you, I can’t thank you enough.”

In turn, Thorp also thanked Hargrove for his service as chair of the board.

“In the time that I have been with this board, there has never been anyone who has given as much time, as much sacrifice and as much psychic energy as you have,” Thorp said.

Thorp took a moment to recognize Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost Bruce Carney—who is stepping down in June.

Carney has served as the University’s chief academic officer since July of 2009. From that date until March 26, 2010 he held the position as an interim role until taking it on as a permanent role.

Thorp said he was thankful for Carney and what he’s done for the University—but also for Thorp himself. Carney hired him as chair of chemistry department.

The two also led UNC through the last several years that have seen scandal and controversy.

“And I’m just glad we got through all of this with out having to make you interim chancellor,” Thorp joked.

And though it was a day of goodbyes, the board welcomed a new addition—UNC Student Body President Christy Lambden—who was sworn in as an ex-officio member.

photo (1)


The board’s next meeting is set for Thursday, July 24.