INDIANAPOLIS —  UNC men’s lacrosse saw its 10-game winning streak come to an end against Denver, falling 12-11 in the NCAA Tournament quarterfinals at Lucas Oil Stadium.

Joey Sankey, Davey Emala and Mark McNeill each scored a pair of goals for UNC while Steve Pontrello, Chad Tutton, Evan Connell, Ryan Kilpatrick and Pat Foster each scored goals.  Jimmy Bitter, Ryan Creighton, Marcus Holman, greg McBride and Sankey each had assists for UNC.

But the fourth-seeded Denver carved away a six-goal Carolina lead and outscored fifth-seeded Heels 5-1 in the fourth quarter.

The Pioneers tied the game at 11-11 with an unassisted goal by Eric Adamson with 1:31 to play.

Denver won the face-off and called a timeout with 1:15 to play. The Pioneers scored on a rebound to win the game with 13.4 seconds left.  Carolina won the following face-off but could not get off a shot, seeing their season end at 13-4.

The Pioneers advance to the NCAA Final 4 and will play top-seeded Syracuse next Saturday in Philadelphia.