Loading Events

← Back to Events

Flyleaf Books

+ Google Map
752 MartinLuther King Jr. Blvd, Chapel Hill, NC 27514 United States

Upcoming Events

April 2015
Free

Courtney Maum reads from her novel “I Am Having So Much Fun Here Without You”

April 22 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

In this reverse love story set in Paris and London, which The Wall Street Journal hailed as “funny and soulful…immediately appealing,” a failed monogamist attempts to woo his wife back and to answer the question: Is it really possible to fall back in love with your spouse? Despite the success of his first solo show in Paris and the support of his brilliant French wife and young daughter, thirty-four-year-old British artist Richard Haddon is too busy mourning the loss of his…

Find out more »
Free

Mary Willingham and Jay Smith discuss “Cheated”

April 23 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

In 2010 allegations of an utterly corrupted academic system for student-athletes emerged from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill campus, home of the legendary Tar Heels. Now, however, the fallout of this scandal—and the continuing spotlight on the failings of college athletics—has made the school ground zero in the debate about how the $16 billion college sports industry operates. Written by UNC professor of history Jay Smith and UNC athletics department whistleblower Mary Willingham, Cheated: The UNC Scandal, the…

Find out more »
Free

Samantha Bryant reads from her novel “Going Through the Change: A Menopausal Superhero Novel”

April 25 @ 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Going through “the change” isn’t easy on any woman. Mood swings, hot flashes, hormonal imbalances, and itchy skin are par for the course. But for these four seemingly unrelated women, menopause brought changes none of them had ever anticipated—super-heroic changes. Helen discovers a spark within that reignites her fire. Jessica finds that her mood is lighter, and so is her body. Patricia always had a tough hide, but now even bullets bounce off her. Linda doesn’t have trouble opening the…

Find out more »
Free

Ursula Vernon presents her new kids’ illustrated novel “Castle Hangnail”

April 25 @ 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

From the creator of Dragonbreath comes a tale of witches, minions, and one fantastic castle, just right for fans of Roald Dahl and Tom Angleberger. When Molly shows up on Castle Hangnail’s doorstep to fill the vacancy for a wicked witch, the castle’s minions are understandably dubious. After all, she is twelve years old, barely five feet tall, and quite polite. (The minions are used to tall, demanding evil sorceresses with razor-sharp cheekbones.) But the castle desperately needs a master…

Find out more »
Free

Michael White and Stuart Dischell read from “Travels in Vermeer” and “Dig Safe”

April 26 @ 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Two prominent North Carolina poets read-based from their work in celebration of National Poetry Month! About Michael White’s memoir Travels in Vermeer: A lyrical and intimate account of how a poet, in the midst of a bad divorce, finds consolation and grace through viewing the paintings of Vermeer, in six world cities. In the midst of a divorce (in which the custody of his young daughter is at stake) and over the course of a year, the poet Michael White,…

Find out more »
Free

Fun Run and Talk with Christopher McDougall, “Born To Run” author

April 28 @ 5:30 pm - 8:30 pm

5:30pm Fun Run & workout with Chris McDougall, Proaxis Therapy and Balanced Movement Studio 7:30pm discussion, talk, and book signing The run and workout are free of charge, but space is limited. First come first reserved: RSVP at INFO (at) Flyleafbooks.com About Chris McDougall and his new book, Natural Born Heroes: After running an ultramarathon in Mexico, Christopher McDougall, author of Born to Run finds his next great adventure on the razor-sharp mountains of Crete, where a band of Resistance fighters in…

Find out more »
Free

Rupert Nacoste discusses his education book “Taking on Diversity: How We Can Move from Anxiety to Respect”

April 30 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

In this enlightening book, a campus “diversity doctor” relates stories that individuals have shared with him about their anxieties in situations involving people who are in some way different than themselves. Dr. Rupert W. Nacoste regularly counsels students at North Carolina State University about their problems dealing with diversity of all kinds, including of gender, race, ethnicity, and sexual-orientation. Here, he shares his most effective techniques for handling the unavoidable realities of being in a neo-diverse community, whether that means…

Find out more »
May 2015
Free

Celebrate the first annual Independent Bookstore Day with Flyleaf!

May 2 @ 11:00 am - 8:00 pm

Flyleaf joins over 400 stores nationally with a day of events and special merchandise in celebration of independent bookstores! For one day, and one day only, a number of very limited, unique, word-based items and books will be available in more than 400 independent stores across the country. These aren’t your run-of-the-mill signed first editions—these are literature-based art projects, unique books, and collector’s items created for this event only. You can’t get them before. You can’t get them after. And…

Find out more »
$27.95

Cary Elwes discusses “As You Wish: Inconceivable Tales from the Making of the Princess Bride”

May 7 @ 5:30 pm - 9:00 pm

5:30: Doors open 6pm: screening of The Princess Bride in the Flyleaf events room 7:45pm: Q&A with Cary Elwes 8:15pm: Signing of books purchased at Flyleaf The iconic actor, best known for his role as Westley in The Princess Bride, discusses his behind-the-scenes look at the making of the cult classic. Ranked by the American Film Institute as one of the top “100 Greatest Love Stories” and by the Writers Guild of America as one of the top “100 Screenplays…

Find out more »
Free

Free Prompt-Writing Class with Nancy Peacock

May 9 @ 10:00 am - 11:30 pm

Serious writing begins with playful writing. Please join this unique ongoing group of supportive adult writers and play your way into the possibilities of the written word. Based on the work of Natalie Goldberg (Writing Down the Bones) we set a timer for fifteen minutes and write using prompts as our launch pads. This class is free and open to the public.  Nancy Peacock lives in Chatham County and runs writing workshops in her studio as well as this free…

Find out more »
Free

Sarah Dessen reads from her new YA novel “Saint Anything”

May 11 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Pre-order Saint Anything to reserve your ticket for the signing line!  All pre-orders will also come with a special swag pack!  This event is FREE but you must purchase Saint Anything from Flyleaf to be admitted into the signing line.  The event will start with a reading from Saint Anything followed by a question and answer session and book signing. You may also purchase autographed and personalized copies of any book by Sarah Dessen year-round which we will fulfill depending…

Find out more »
Free

Jessica Hopper discusses her book “The First Collection of Criticism by a Living Female Rock Critic”

May 12 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Jessica Hopper’s music criticism has earned her a reputation as a firebrand, a keen observer and fearless critic not just of music but the culture around it. With this volume spanning from her punk fanzine roots to her landmark piece on R. Kelly’s past, The First Collection leaves no doubt why The New York Times has called Hopper’s work “influential.” Not merely a selection of two decades of Hopper’s most engaging, thoughtful, and humorous writing, this book documents the last…

Find out more »
Free

Jeffrey Deaver discusses “Solitude Creek,” his new Kathryn Dance thriller

May 13 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

A tragedy occurs at a small concert venue on the Monterey Peninsula. Cries of “fire” are raised and, panicked, people run for the doors, only to find them blocked. A half dozen people die and others are seriously injured. But it’s the panic and the stampede that killed; there was no fire. Kathryn Dance – a brilliant California Bureau of Investigation agent and body language expert – discovers that the stampede was caused intentionally and that the perpetrator, a man obsessed with…

Find out more »
+ Export Listed Events