Sherry Norris Wins N.C. AP Coach Of The Year

Chapel Hill’s Sherry Norris is the 2013-14 Associated Press prep basketball coach of the year for North Carolina.

In results released Thursday, Norris was the runaway winner in voting for the women’s award with 13 votes. She guided Chapel Hill to a 32-0 record and the 3-A title to go with the 4-A crown she captured at the school in 1981.

CHHS Winningest Coach To Retire From Classroom April 30

Jenny Levy Awarded Second Coach Of The Year Honor

CHAPEL HILL – UNC women’s lacrosse head coach Jenny Levy is once again the national coach of the year, according to the Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA).

This award adds to the coach of the year award Levy received from Inside Lacrosse. She led the Tar Heels to their first National Title and captured the crown in a thrilling triple-overtime, 13-12 sudden-victory win over what the polls deemed as the best team in the land, Maryland.

Levy is the fourth coach to win an NCAA championship as both a player and a head coach. She has the sixth-most wins in NCAA women’s lacrosse history.

Levy also led the team to its best record of wins in school history (18) with just three losses in the campaign.