A Chapel Hill-Carrboro City Schools bus collided with a car Tuesday afternoon at the intersection of Bethel Hickory Grove Church and Jo Mac roads in Orange County.
No injuries were reported, but the back of the sedan was crushed. The driver reportedly reversed after missing the turn onto Jo Mac, causing the bus to rear-end the car.
The 37 students from McDougle Elementary were transferred to another bus then taken back to the school to wait for their parents.http://chapelboro.com/news/safety/chccs-students-unhurt-orange-county-bus-crash/
Photo courtesy of Litchfield’s alma mater, Wayne State College in Wayne, NE
CHAPEL HILL – Your local transit authority has been led by an interim director for the past ten months, and now, Brian Litchfield is taking over as the full-time director.
Town Manager Roger Stancil announced Friday that he has appointed Litchfield as Chapel Hill Transit’s director.
Litchfield served as the assistant director of the second largest transit system in North Carolina since 2008. With a 125-bus fixed route and para-transit system and an average weekday ridership of 35,000 people, CHT is second only to the Charlotte Area Transit System.
Before Chapel Hill, Litchfield was the chief development officer for the Des Moines Regional Transit Authority in Des Moines, Iowa.
Chapel Hill Transit has 235 employees and an operating budget of $19.7 million.http://chapelboro.com/news/news-around-time/brian-litchfield-announced-as-cht-director/
RALEIGH, N.C. (AP) – North Carolina motorists convicted of passing a stopped school bus picking up or dropping off students would face a $500 minimum fine in addition to other punishments in legislation going to Governor Pat McCrory’s desk.
The House agreed Tuesday to Senate changes to the bill, named for an 11-year-old boy killed last December when police say a car struck him at a Forsyth County bus stop.
In the “Hasani N. Wesley Students’ School Bus Safety Act,” a driver who hits a child and faces a felony would receive a minimum $1,250 fine. A conviction resulting in death would mean at least $2,500.
The measure requires drivers convicted of repeat violations to have their licenses revoked for at least one year and possibly permanently. The motorist could get limited driving privileges.http://chapelboro.com/news/safety/minimum-fines-for-passing-school-buses-in-nc-bill/