2014 UNC Women’s Soccer Schedule Released

By UNC Athletics Posted April 8, 2014 at 8:47 am

The University of North Carolina has announced its 2014 women’s soccer schedule on Monday and it features 10 games against teams which played in the 2013 NCAA Tournament, including defending champion UCLA, runner-up Florida State and semifinalist Virginia Tech.

UNC has assembled one of the nation’s toughest non-conference schedules for 2014. It includes games against 2013 NCAA participants Stanford (3rd round), Ohio State (1st round), UCLA (champion), Arkansas (3rd round) and Penn State (2nd round). The Tar Heels will also play at Pepperdine to conclude a two-game trip to the West Coast which starts against UCLA on August 29.

For the first time in league history, the ACC, which will include 14 teams, will not play a complete round robin. UNC will play 10 league foes including games at Notre Dame and Duke and at home against Virginia Tech, Wake Forest and Florida State. All five of those teams qualified for the 2013 NCAA Tournament with all five reaching at least the third round of the tournament.

In the ACC rotation, UNC will not play regular season games this year against Virginia, Boston College or Louisville.

The ACC Tournament semifinals and finals will be played at UNC Greensboro on Nov. 7 and 9. The six rounds of the NCAA Tournament begin Saturday, Nov. 15. The College Cup is slated for Fort Lauderdale, Florida on December 5 and 7.

North Carolina finished the 2013 season with a 20-5 record before losing in double overtime to eventual NCAA champion UCLA 1-0 in the NCAA quarterfinals at Fetzer Field. Coach Anson Dorrance will be crafting a squad in 2014 that needs to replace six starters from the 2013 squad – forward Kealia Ohai, midfielders Crystal Dunn, Meg Morris and Kelly McFarlane, defender Megan Brigman and goalkeeper Anna Sieloff.

2014 NORTH CAROLINA WOMEN’S SOCCER SCHEDULE
Fri. Aug. 22 Carolina Nike Classic (Chapel Hill, N.C.)
Duke vs. Ohio State, 5 p.m.
UNC vs. Stanford, 7 p.m.
Sun., Aug. 24 Carolina Nike Classic (Chapel Hill, N.C.)
Duke vs. Stanford, 1 p.m.
UNC vs. Ohio State, 3 p.m.
Fri., Aug 29 at UCLA, 5 p.m. (8 p.m. EDT)
Sun., Aug. 31 at Pepperdine, 1 p.m. (4 p.m. EDT)
Fri., Sept. 5 Duke Nike Classic (Durham, N.C.)
UNC vs. Arkansas, 5 p.m.
Duke vs. Penn State, 7 p.m.
Sun., Sept. 7 Duke Nike Classic (Durham, N.C.)
UNC vs. Penn State, 12 p.m.
Duke vs. Arkansas, 2 p.m.
Sat., Sept. 20 at Notre Dame, 7 p.m.
Thurs., Sept. 25 at Clemson, 7 p.m.
Sun., Sept. 28 at NC State, 1 p.m.
Fri., Oct. 3 Virginia Tech, 5 p.m.
Thurs., Oct. 9 Wake Forest, 7 p.m.
Sun., Oct. 12 Pittsburgh, 1 p.m.
Sun., Oct. 19 at Duke, 2 p.m.
Thurs., Oct. 23 Florida State, 7 p.m.
Sun., Oct. 26 Miami, 1 p.m.
Sun., Nov. 2 at Syracuse, 1 p.m.
Fri., Nov. 7 ACC Tournament Semifinals (Greensboro, N.C.)
Sun., Nov. 9 ACC Tournament Finals (Greensboro, N.C.)
Sat., Nov. 15 NCAA Tournament First Round
Fri., Nov. 21 NCAA Tournament Second Round
Sun., Nov. 23 NCAA Tournament Third Round
Sat., Nov. 29 NCAA Quarterfinals
Fri., Dec. 5 NCAA Semifinals (Fort Lauderdale, Fla.)
Sun., Dec. 7 NCAA Finals (Fort Lauderdale, Fla.)

Did you see something wrong in this story, or something missing? Let us know
Comments box goes here.

Leave a Comment

Sports

More Sports